Their fourth joint project, Fool Me Once, is an adaptation of Coben’s book. Maya (Michelle Keegan) is mourning the loss of her husband, Joe (Richard Armitage), but after installing a cam nanny to take care of her baby, she recognizes a man in her house, her husband, whom she thought was dead.

Based on the Harlan Coben book, Netflix will soon release the eight-part series “Fool Me Once”. Richard Armitage, Michelle Keegan, and Joanna Lumley will star in the show, which is being made by Nicola Shindler’s Quay Street Productions.

Keegan portrays Maya Stern, trying to rebuild her life after her husband, Joe, is brutally murdered (Armitage).

That is until she discovers someone on her nanny’s cam who is meant to be dead, and this causes her life to change unexpectedly. Additionally, Maya’s nephews are looking into their mother’s murder, which happened months earlier.

Who are the cast members of Fool Me Once?

He Fooled Me Once

Leading Me astray Michelle Keegan was previously cast to play Maya Stern. Richard Armitage, who has already acted in two previous Harlan Coben adaptations, The Stranger and Remain Near, plays Maya’s husband, Joe.

Additionally, Joe’s overprotective mother, Judith Burkett, Joanna Lumley, will join the cast. Adeel Akhtar, who plays Detective Sergeant Sami Kierce, completes the main cast.

What is the story behind Fool Me Once?

He Fooled Me Once

The film Fool Me Once, based on the book of the same name by Harlan Coben, focuses on Maya Stern as she mourns the death of her husband, Joe, only for it to resurface via the nanny cam she installed to looking over her little daughter.

Sami Kierce, a detective sergeant, is in command of the murder investigation into Joe’s death while at the same time facing his own demons. In addition, Maya’s nephews are attempting to find information about their mother’s murder, which happened a few months earlier.

The series is a “pulse-pounder”, according to Harlan Coben, who also calls it “a disturbing narrative of how secrets and dishonesty have the potential to bring people together while also tearing them apart.”

When will Fool Me Once be released?

He Fooled Me Once
Irish Mirror

While Fool Me Once is shot in Manchester, no release date has been set.

Harlan Coben novel overview

Harlan Coben’s book “Fool Me Once” was released in 2016. The novel’s narrative centers on Maya Stern, a former special operations pilot who currently suffers from PTSD as a result of her time spent in Iraq. In the opening pages of the book, Maya is seen attending the funeral of her late husband, Joe, who was killed in a park while playing with their two-year-old son.

Maya begins seeing a therapist to deal with her PTSD as she struggles to come to terms with her spouse’s death.

But, things get strange when Maya witnesses her supposedly dead husband interacting with their child on nanny video. Maya finds herself caught in a web of deceit and lies as she tries to understand what she saw the true meaning of.