The British historical drama series ‘Sandton’, adapted from Jane Austen’s unfinished manuscript and set in the Regency Era, will soon return with its 3rd Season.

The plot finds Charlotte Heywood in the fishing village of Sanditon who must reinvent herself as a seaside resort while navigating the ambitions and secrets of the village’s citizens.

Primary cast members of the series include Rose Williams, Kate Ashfield, Crystal Clarke, Turlough Convery, Jack Fox, Chris Marshall, Anne Reidetc. The series premiered on 25 August 2019.

Although the official release date of the upcoming Season 3 of ‘Sanditon’ has not been released yet, it’s confirmed that it’ll arrive in early 2023.

Following is a list of a number of other TV series that you must watch if you enjoyed ‘Sanditon’.

Must Watch 10 Series Like Sanditon Season 3.

Sense and Sensibility – Number of Seasons: 1

Sense and Sensibility

This British drama series is adapted from Jane Austen’s 1811 novel-‘Sense and Sensibility‘. The plot primarily revolves around two sisters Elinor Dashwood and Marianne Dashwood who find themselves on a journey of both romance and self-discovery.

British actresses Hattie Morahan and Wakefield Charity shown to Elinor and Marianne in the series. It ran from 1 January to 13 January 2008 on BBC One. The series is notable for being more overtly sexual than other Austen adaptations.

Beecham House – Number of Seasons: 1

Beecham House
Radio Times

The plot of this short-lived British historical drama series revolves around former East Indian soldier John Beecham who, after moving in with a mixed-race baby in a bungalow in Delhi, finds himself faced with a future he did not think of.

The series ran from 23 June to 21 July 2019 on ITV.

The Gilded Age – Number of Seasons: 1

The Gilded Age

This historical drama series is within it the Gilded Age of the United States which is the boom years of the eighties in New York City.

The plot is centered around a rural girl named Marian Brook who moves to New York after the death of her father and is assimilated into the clan of a railroad magnate. The series premiered on January 24, 2022, on HBO.

Gentleman Jack – Number of Seasons: 2

Sir Jack

This historical drama series is set in 1830s Yorkshire and is about the English diarist who is known as “the first modern lesbian”.

The plot is based on Lister’s diaries which contain more than four million words, a large portion of which is in secret code and documents their life full of lesbian relationships.

English actress Suranne Jones shown to Lister in the series. It ran from April 22, 2019, to June 13, 2022, on BBC One and HBO.

The Chef of Castamar – Number of Seasons: 1

Castamar's Chef

This Spanish period drama series is adapted from the novel of the same name by Fernando J. Muñez. The plot is set in Madrid in 1720 and revolves around a talented cook named Clara Belmonte who catches the eye of a widowed duke as he rejoins aristocratic society.

Spanish actress Michelle Jenner shown to Clara in the series. It lasted from 21 February to 9 May 2021.

Bleak House – Number of Seasons: 1

Dreary House

This BBC TV drama series is a fifteen-part adaptation based on the novel of the same name by Charles Dickens. The series was nominated for ten Primetime Emmy Awards with two wins. It ran from 27 October to 16 December 2005 on BBC One.

Bridgerton – Number of Seasons: 2


This historical romantic drama series is adapted from the book series by Julia Quinn. The plot is set in the Regency Era of London and revolves around the brothers of the Bridgerton family as they’re launched into society one by one they’re young people married to gentry and nobility.

Some of the primary cast members of the series include Goodbye Andoh, Jonathan Bailey, Nicola Coughlan, Phoebe Dynevor, Claudia Jessie, Luke Newton, Regé-Jean Page, Golda Rocheuvel, Luke ThompsonSimone Ashley, Calam Lynch, etc.

The wildly popular show set records in both seasons. It was shown on 25 December 2020, on Netflix.

Lark Rise to Candleford – Number of Seasons: 4

Lark Rise to Candleford

This British costume drama series is adapted from Flora Thompson’s trilogy of semi-autobiographical novels.

The plot revolves around a girl who moves to the local market to become an apprentice as a postmistress. The series ran from 13 January 2008 to 13 February 2011 on BBC One and BBC HD.

Downton Abbey – Number of Seasons: 6

Downton Abbey
The New York Times

The setting of the British historical drama series is the early 20th century of the fictional Yorkshire country estate of Downtown Abbey.

The plot centers on Robert Crawley who is in danger of losing the family estate after his heirs die on the Titanic.

Things become more dramatic when the Crawleys meet Matthew, who is the next in line inheritor and wants to resist the aristocracy.

The series ran from 26 September 2010 to 25 December 2015 on ITV. He was nominated for 27 Primetime Emmy Awards.

Belgravia – Number of Seasons: 1


This historical drama series is adapted from the 2016 novel of the same name by Julian Fellowes and is set in the titular wealthy district of 19th century London. The series ran from March 15 to -19 April 2020.